Carinafour joins industry consortium to develop state-of-the-art container vessels

Carinafour, press release, 31st August 2018 at 11AM EEST

Carinafour is participating in a consortium involving leading marine industry players to collaborate in developing new levels of performance and environmental efficiency for container vessels. The consortium is led by Dubai based Zaitoun Green Shipping Ltd (ZGS).

Carinafour, as a leading-edge company in developing and operating modern production systems and supply chain processes, will collaborate with the members of the consortium, who are established experts in their respective fields. Each member of the Consortium has an important role in developing and building state-of-the-art container ships featuring the highest levels of efficiency. The goals of the consortium are closely linked with Carinafour’s own business philosophy; improving efficiency, increasing performance and minimising environmental impact.

Joining Carinafour and ZGS in the Consortium are the following companies: Wärtsilä, a global leader in smart technologies and complete lifecycle solutions for marine and energy markets; MacGregor Finland Oy (MCG), a leader in cargo system solutions; Winterthur Gas & Diesel (WinGD), a leading developer of low-speed 2-stroke engines; Mitsubishi Heavy Industries & Equipment (MHI-MME), a provider of energy saving and environmental solutions; and Gaztransport & Technigaz (GTT), an engineering company expert in containment systems with cryogenic membranes used to transport and store liquefied gas, in particular LNG (Liquefied Natural Gas).

“As the number of technologies used grows, it is crucial to ensure that the technology investments are turned into customer value and that the return on investment is meeting expectations”, says Ari Viitanen, Chairman of the Board, Carinafour. “Our business is integrating technology with processes, business models and people”.

Carinafour consortium

Caption: Executives of the seven consortium companies at the agreement signing ceremony. From left to right, Emmanuel Rousseau (GTT), Kusakabe Atsuo (MHI-MME), Koichi Matsushita (MHI-MME), Ibrahim Behairy (WinGD), Tommi Keskilohko (MacGregor), Stein Thorsager (Wärtsilä), Reetta Kaila (Wärtsilä), Mohamed Zaitoun (ZGS), Ari Viitanen (Carinafour), Rudolf Wettstein (WinGD), Arto Toivonen (MacGregor)